Chicklet - Add to Google Homepage

Add to Google Reader or Homepage

Sunday, January 22, 2012

Time = Space Series. Part 22 – Eight (Octet) and the 5 sacred arts

எட்டே எட்டியல் எட்டெட் டியலே
எட்டின் நெறியே அளவை மாநெறி !!

The above lines from the work Aintiram means “Eight / Octa (multiples of 8) is the fundamental numeral for any measurements. We did see that the fundamental god’s particle add up with each other in the multiples of 8 in the previous part. 

In ancient India there were about 64 arts ( ) known as Chatuhsasti kala ("ஆய கலைகள் அறுபத்துநான்கினையும்" as popularly known in Tamil), but I am going to talk about 5 sacred arts.

We will look at the importance of numeral 8 and how this is fundamental to everything in this Universe. But let’s again start again with etymology. The word arts in Sanskrit is “Kala” (कला) and Time in Sanskrit is काला (Kaala). So etymologically we can say that classical arts are all about variation of time (or harmonics of this pulsation of time in the multiples of 8).

After etymology let’s get to the basics. Our understanding of the universe is that “the primordial space manifests itself as spatial forms through pulsation (Time) and its periodicity (Rhythm & order). This evolution started with Pranava which came out as aural and visual form (Sound & light). When they say “The one became two” they refer to the Pranava which is light and sound from the un-manifested consciousness.

Aintiram states that the dual form of Pranava gave forth 5 sacred arts which are fundamental to most of the other arts. The Aural form of Pranava gave forth Poetry and Classical Carnatic music, which can only be heard. The Visual form of Pranava gave forth Sculpture and Building architecture, which can only be seen. Both the aural and visual forms merged to create the classical dance (Bharatnatyam), which involves both seeing and hearing.

                                                          Figure 32: 5 Sacred arts

They were classified as 5 vedas:

·         Poetry – Sabda veda
·         Classical music – Gandharva Veda
·         Classical Dance – Naatya veda
·         Sculpture – Sthapatya Veda (Sthapati is a clan that is the master of this veda)
·         Architecture – Pranava Veda

You would agree that the aural forms are predominantly variations in time and visual forms are of variations in space. But our ears stand for akash tatva (“space”) and it can perceive variation of time and space and we will see this in detail. When we said “Time = Space” we will see that both of them are governed by the same laws and measurements and hence there is no difference between Time and Space.

Happy reading!

No comments:

Post a Comment